Welcome at RacingNews365

Become part of the largest racing community in the United Kingdom. Create your free account now!

  • Share your thoughts and opinions about F1
  • Win fantastic prizes
  • Get access to our premium content
  • Take advantage of more exclusive benefits
Sign in

Top 3 - race 2023

Top 3 - qualification 2023


First held 1964
Laps 71
Circuit length 4.318 kilometres
Lap record 1:05.619 (2020)
Winner 2022 Charles Leclerc
Second in 2022 Max Verstappen
Third in 2022 Lewis Hamilton


Winner 2022 Charles Leclerc
Winner 2021 Max Verstappen
Winner 2020 Valtteri Bottas
Winner 2019 Max Verstappen
Winner 2018 Max Verstappen

The Red Bull Ring will once again host the Austrian Grand Prix in 2023. Traditionally a mainstay on the calendar, it was scrapped ahead of the 2004 season, but returned in 2014 after Red Bull acquired the circuit and reached an agreement with Bernie Ecclestone.

F1 Austrian Grand Prix 2023

At 4.318km, the Red Bull Ring is one of the shorter layouts on the F1 calendar. What it lacks in distance, though, it has made up for in drama since its re-introduction.

The track originated in 1969, when it was known as the Osterreichring, but in 1995 and 1996, Hermann Tilke led a redesign, turning it into the picturesque venue we know today. It is a circuit of two halves, with three straights separated by uphill right-handers in the first section, before a downhill section runs into a series of quick corners.

Whilst the venue disappeared from the calendar for several years, it has been a firm fixture on the schedule since 2014.


The first Austrian Grand Prix dates back to 1963, when it was held on the Zeltweg Airfield in what was a non-championship event.

Jack Brabham took the chequered flag that day, and it didn't take long for the race to become part of the F1 championship. That development happened the following year in 1964, with Lorenzo Bandini claiming the only win of his career in a Ferrari.

While the race was a success, the narrow and bumpy track, along with poor sightlines for spectators, pushed the FIA to remove it from the calendar until a suitable circuit was built.

Move to Osterreichring in 1970

The Osterreichring (which translates to 'Austria circuit'), built in the scenic Styrian mountains with fast, flowing corners, held the event from 1970 to 1987. The Austrian Grand Prix was designated as the European Grand Prix in 1975, when the title was an honorary designation each year to one race in Europe.

The rest of the field were no match for Ferrari in 1970, as Jacky Ickx took the chequered flag ahead of teammate Clay Regazzoni, while the 1975 race was marred by the accident that killed Mark Donohue. That race saw Vittorio Brambilla record his only F1 victory, though he crashed when crossing the finish line due to heavy rain.

John Watson and Alan Jones also registered their first career wins at the Austrian Grand Prix in 1976 and 1977 respectively. The 1982 event was dominated by turbocharged cars, but all but one of them retired due to mechanical issues.

Ricciardo Patrese crashed heavily at the Texaco Bends, while Alain Prost saw his engine expire with a few laps remaining, making the race a sprint between Lotus' Elio de Angelis and the Williams of Keke Rosberg. In the end, de Angelis was able to hold off the Finn and take the chequered flag by 0.05 seconds.

Niki Lauda sent the home fans into a frenzy by winning the 1985 Austrian GP, while compatriot Gerhard Berger led the following year, only for electrical issues to ruin his race and allow Prost to take victory.

Nigel Mansell won the 1987 race, in an event that was restarted twice due to accidents on the narrow pit-straight grid. This, along with the number of high-speed corners and lack of protection from trees and embankments, pushed the FIA pull the race from the calendar.

Return to F1 calendar as the A1-Ring

The track was finally updated and refurbished in 1995 and 1996, with the Austrian Grand Prix returning to the F1 calendar in 1997.

The layout was redesigned by Hermann Tilke and renamed the A1-Ring after a sponsor. Canadian Jacques Villeneuve won the first race back at the track, while McLaren's Mika Hakkinen and David Coulthard took victory at three of the next four events.

Ferrari, who won the 1999 Austrian GP thanks to Eddie Irvine, received negative publicity in 2002 when the team told Rubens Barrichello to slow down and allow Michael Schumacher to take the chequered flag. The German asked his teammate to join him on the top step of the podium as fans booed, and the FIA went on to fine Ferrari, Schumacher and Barrichello $1 million.

Each paid a third immediately, with the remainder suspended, while the FIA banned team orders starting from 2003, before allowing them again as of 2010.

The 2003 Austrian Grand Prix was the final event until 2014, when the circuit's new owners, Red Bull, reached an agreement with Bernie Ecclestone. The event has been dominated by Mercedes and Red Bull since its return, with no other constructor having won the race in that time.

Most successful F1 drivers and teams

Jo Siffert, Alain Prost and Max Verstappen have all won the Austrian Grand Prix on three occasions, with the Dutchman joining that list thanks to his victory at the 2021 race. Two of Siffert's wins came at events that weren't included as part of the F1 World Championship.

Behind them, Ronnie Peterson, Alan Jones, Mika Hakkinen, Michael Schumacher, Nico Rosberg and Valtteri Bottas have all won the Austrian GP two times.

As for the constructors, Ferrari lead the way with seven wins, ahead of McLaren's six and Mercedes' five, while Lotus sit on four victories.

The 2022 Austrian Grand Prix

Max Verstappen claimed pole position as well as the Sprint race victory when F1 visited Austria in 2022.

However, it was Charles Leclerc who took the momentum during Sunday's race. The Monegasque enjoyed a close battle with Verstappen and had to overtake the Dutchman three times on his way to taking the race win.

Verstappen finished in second, with Lewis Hamilton rounding out the top three.

When is the 2023 Austrian Grand Prix on the F1 calendar?

The Austrian Grand Prix is scheduled to take place on the weekend of 30 June-2 July, and is set to be the 10th race of the Formula 1 season. The first free practice session will take place on 30 June, followed by qualifying at 16:00 BST.

There will then be another practice session on Saturday 1 July before the second Sprint of the season is held at 15:30 BST.

What time does the 2023 Austrian Grand Prix start?

The Austrian Grand Prix starts on Sunday 2 July at 14:00 BST. The race can be followed live on RacingNews365's blog.

Timetable Austrian GP

Session Date Time
Free practice 1 Friday 30 June -
Qualification Friday 30 June -
Sprint shootout Saturday 1 July -
Sprintrace Saturday 1 July -
Race Sunday 2 July -
LATEST Verstappen's scathing response to Las Vegas: 'You look like a clown'