Welcome at RacingNews365

Become part of the largest racing community in the United Kingdom. Create your free account now!

  • Share your thoughts and opinions about F1
  • Win fantastic prizes
  • Get access to our premium content
  • Take advantage of more exclusive benefits
Sign in

Top 3 - race 2023

Top 3 - qualification 2023


First held 2008
Laps 61
Circuit length 5.063 kilometres
Lap record 1:41.905 (2018)
Winner in 2022 Sergio Perez
Second in 2022 Charles Leclerc
Third in 2022 Carlos Sainz


Winner 2022 Sergio Perez
Winner 2019 Sebastian Vettel
Winner 2018 Lewis Hamilton
Winner 2017 Lewis Hamilton
Winner 2016 Nico Rosberg

The Singapore Grand Prix will return to brighten the night sky in 2023. Held at the Marina Bay Street Circuit, the venue was the first to host an F1 night race, and has remained a popular event since its debut in 2008.

F1 Singapore Grand Prix 2023

A physically demanding track, Singapore's Marina Bay Circuit forces drivers to test their limits across 5.063km of bumpy street surface coupled with humid conditions.

Initially planned out by Hermann Tilke and since refined by KBR Inc, the event has become a standout on the F1 calendar thanks to drivers having to navigate slower sections and long straights in a harbourside location similar to the Monaco Grand Prix.

The first race to be run entirely at night under floodlights – which allowed European audiences to watch at a suitable hour – the track was initially criticised by drivers for being too bumpy and too physically demanding, as they lost as much as 3kg over the course of a race.

Minor changes were made in 2009, while 2013 saw the Singapore Sling chicane replaced with a conventional left-hander. Turn 18, which sees drivers pass underneath a grandstand, remains untouched while still delivering one of the most unique experiences in modern day Formula 1.


The first Singapore Grand Prix took place in 2008, and is perhaps best remembered for a controversy that came to be known to many as Crashgate. Nelson Piquet Jr crashed on Lap 14 of the race, and it was later discovered that this had been done deliberately to allow his Renault teammate Fernando Alonso to win.

Renault were found guilty of race-fixing, and the team were given a suspended two-year sentence.

Alonso became the first driver to claim multiple wins at Singapore when he clinched a second victory in 2010, while Sebastian Vettel took his debut victory at the track in 2011 and went on to achieve several more.

Things didn't work out so well for Vettel at the 2017 event, though. The German was involved in a collision with Ferrari teammate Kimi Raikkonen and Red Bull's Max Verstappen at the first corner, and his title hopes consequently took a knock, with Lewis Hamilton winning and extending his lead in the championship standings.

A similar scenario unfolded in 2018, when Hamilton's victory at the Marina Bay Circuit gave him a further advantage in his title battle against Vettel.

Most successful F1 drivers and teams

Vettel is the most successful driver in Singapore, with five victories to his name. Three of these were achieved during his dominant period with Red Bull, whilst two came with Ferrari.

Hamilton is not far behind on four wins, and Alonso has two.

Mercedes are the constructor to have collected the most wins at the event, having taken the chequered flag on four occasions, while Red Bull have four victories and Ferrari sit on three.

The 2022 Singapore Grand Prix

Unfortunately the Singapore Grand Prix was cancelled in 2020 and 2021 due to the COVID-19 pandemic, but the event returned in 2022.

Max Verstappen entered the weekend with the possibility of sealing the Drivers' Championship at the Marina Bay Street Circuit. However, a fuel issue resulted in the Dutchman having to abandon his final flying lap in qualifying, leaving him down in eighth on the grid.

His Red Bull teammate, Sergio Perez, started from the front row and quickly took the lead from pole-sitter Charles Leclerc on the opening lap.

The Mexican went on to claim his second win of the season, with Leclerc in second and Lewis Hamilton rounding out the podium in third.

When is the 2023 Singapore Grand Prix on the F1 calendar?

The Singapore Grand Prix is scheduled to take place on the weekend of 15-17 September, and is set to be the 16th race of the Formula 1 season. The first two free practice sessions will be held on 15 September, with qualifying on Saturday 16 September at 14:00 BST.

What time does the 2023 Singapore Grand Prix start?

The Singapore Grand Prix starts on Sunday 17 September at 13:00 BST. The race can be followed live on RacingNews365's live blog.

Timetable Singapore GP

Session Date Time
Free practice 1 Friday 15 September -
Free practice 2 Friday 15 September -
Free practice 3 Saturday 16 September -
Qualification Saturday 16 September -
Race Sunday 17 September -
LATEST Verstappen's scathing response to Las Vegas: 'You look like a clown'